What Light

51vnabl1eql-_sx330_bo1204203200_Title: What Light
Author: Jay Asher
Original Publication Date: October 18th, 2016
Original Price: $18.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 251
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Disclaimer: I received this book from Razorbill in exchange for an honest review.

I read Thirteen Reasons Why  a couple years ago and completely fell in love. When I heard that Jay Asher had another book coming out, I knew I would have to add it to my To Read list. With the help of my lovely book bud, Kevin, I got an ARC edition, but decided to save it for the holidays. Well the holidays came and I began the book, then the holidays went and I was only a few chapters in.

Something about the book felt off to me. I just couldn’t place what it was. It wasn’t what I was expecting. It all seemed too sugary sweet. But then crept in a bit of darkness that added a much needed bit a conflict. Now when I say darkness, I don’t mean heavy drug use and murder haha but Caleb’s (the love interest) story is not as black and white as it first seemed.

There are typical young adult contemporary cliches and nuances that come along with the territory and I found myself growing a little tired of them but within the last 1/4 of the book, something changed. The romance began to creep it’s way into my frozen over heart and chipped away at the outer layers. By the end, my eyes were welling with tears of happiness, full of glee, giddily hugging my book and so happy that I stuck around to finish it.

I think my biggest problem with this book had absolutely nothing to do with the book itself. It was all me, expecting to have another Thirteen Reasons Why on my hands when this book was completely different but just as good in it’s own sweet, heartwarming way.

Definitely recommend reading this book at winter time because reading it with a warm cup of joe in my lap was definitely a highlight of this past season. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

