Lola and the Boy Next Door

22247695Title: Lola and the Boy Next Door
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Original Publication Date: September 29th, 2011
Original Price: $10.99 (paperback)
Number of Pages: 338
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: Lola’s unique and eccentric, has a hot older boyfriend, her life is pretty perfect, until she’s forced to live next to the boy who broke her heart.

My synopsis is pretty legit this time.

My friend once told me that I would love Lola and the Boy Next Door because I’m pretty much Lola. He meant it in a superficial type of way though. As in, we both are eccentric. Lola views the world like a giant stage, everyday a new day to showcase a one of a kind costume. Now, I’m not exactly like that, but I do put together outfits in this way.

When I began  Lola, I was almost offended that my friend said I was similar to her. She is young and immature and often seems like she lacks a full respect for her fathers (oh yeah, she has two dads [which is awesome]). But by the end of the book, Lola has grown up so much. She truly comes into her own and leaves the “rebellious teen” stereotype behind. Perkins character development of Lola is so great.

Her relationships with surrounding character’s truly grow as well. In the beginning Lola’s kind of bratty but by the end, she makes lasting and mature decisions that show her true growth.

My favorite part of this book was Lola. The love aspect was so secondary to me. But even with that, I loved it. Perkins really has this way of making the setting its own character and this book was no different.

San Francisco seemed so gorgeous and vibrant. Full of life. I felt like I was being drawn in to the city.

Overall, I truly enjoyed this book and devoured it within a couple days.

 

 

Leave a Reply

