Killer Entertainment: Suicide Squad

suicide-squad-movie-characters-postersI’m going to start this off by saying that I have really mixed feelings about Suicide Squad. My knowledge of the original Suicide Squad is limited, at best. But when the New 52 renumbered the title and I found out that Harley Quinn was pretty much the main character, I jumped at the chance to read it and I didn’t like it. So, having that in mind, I wasn’t as excited for the Suicide Squad film as I was for literally anything else. Then I find out Margot Robbie is going to be Harley. Ok. I can get behind it, I guess. THEN, they released that monstrosity of a Joker and I was completely PISSED.

Here’s the thing about being a long time fan of something. When you’re really into a fandom (as I’m sure some of you know) there comes this sense of ownership over these characters that you literally have nothing to do with other than a general liking for said character(s). That’s exactly how I feel about the Joker and Harley Quinn. I’ve loved them since I was a kid watching Batman: The Animated Series and have dreaaaaamed of having a film in which both of them are together. With this fan-ownership of my favorite characters and seeing how drastically their looks were altered, you could say, I was less than enthralled to watch the movie. But alas, I still dragged my boyfriend with me to watch it. (he was also less than enthralled about it)

maxresdefaultThe first portion of the movie is literally intros to the characters in the Suicide Squad. Great. Graphics looked cool but also, took too long and each character had a different song with different songs playing between each character’s intro and there were seriously like 13 different songs within the first like 25 minutes. I was already annoyed and got myself some Buncha Crunch and a rum and coke. With my goodies in tow, I arrived back to my seat and started sipping away.

After finishing my drink, noming on my candy, and getting the figuartive stick out of my (comic book) hipster butt (sorry for the language), I was actually able to start to enjoy the movie for what it was: a fun comic book action flick. I had to sit for like a minute and tell myself that I was purposely trying to dislike the movie and Margot Robbie.

But get this. Margot Robbie was actually my favorite part. Crazy right? Her portrayal of Dr. Harleen Quinzel was spot on. She encapsulated exactly what Dr. Quinzel was in Batman: The Animated Series. I literally felt myself swooning over it. My nerd-heart was ready to explode. And other than the overt sexualization of Harley Quinn, I liked her performance of this side of the character as well. I mean, nit-picky me wishes her voice was higher pitched but that’s seriously so unimportant. I hated her outfit, as I’m sure you can gather by now, and for a brief and tiny moment I could see her in that infamous red and black jester suit that made me happy sigh. So needless to say, I am so absolutely excited to see what more Robbie will bring to the DC Cinematic Universe.

http://www.mobile01.com/userinfo.php?id=1174960

And now for my absolute least favorite part: Jared Leto’s Joker. Don’t get me wrong, I actually like Jared Leto. He’s a good actor and not too bad to look at but I don’t know. Maybe it’s because I only got to see him for 7 minutes. Maybe it’s because I heard all the terrible ways he was “going method” during the film. But I just couldn’t get into it. I couldn’t get past his look and how lack luster his performance was. Again, maybe it was just the cut of the film. I know there were a bunch of his scenes cut out but maybe these 7 minutes were his best? While Mark Hamill, Heath Ledger, and Jack Nicholson became The Joker, Jared Leto was simply an actor trying to play The Joker. Hamill, Ledger, Nicholson and Cesar Romero’s depictions of the Joker were all so vastly different which truly leaves room to play this character as your own but Leto just didn’t do that. I’m truly hoping it was just the cut of the movie and that Leto will truly become the character for later films but we’ll just have to see.cladibexeaadrnh

Overall, I liked it much more than I thought I would but I also thought I would absolutely despise it. So, good job I guess? Good action sequences and can we just stop cosplaying this version of Harley and start cosplaying as this version of Katana because omg, she was so dope.

Leave a Reply

