Me & Earl & The Dying Girl

15842637Title: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Author & Artist: Jesse Andrews
Original Publication Date: March 1st, 2012
Original Price: $9.95 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 304
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Synopsis: Greg is forced to go against everything he believes in to befriend Rachel, whom he recently found out has leukemia.

I’m just going to go ahead and say that was the worst synopsis I’ve written, I think. Which is unfortunate because this book is so much better than that. Me & Earl was on my radar for a while because I saw a booktube video where they were just gushing over how great it was. When I heard that it was being made into a movie that was making it’s rounds on the indie film circuit, I was more than just intrigued.

I read the book in a total of two days and instantly fell in love. I thought it was so absolutely hilarious and well written. It perfectly encapsulated what it’s like to be an awkward teen afraid of rejection from their peers. It was just so truly wonderful. Greg Gaines, the main character, is not the nicest person but that’s what makes his character so incredibly human.

I guess it’s really easy to try to compare this book to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars or to easily gloss over this book as “just another cancer kid book” but holy wow, it is so so so much more than that. It’s about finding yourself in the most unlikely way possible, when terrible things are happening to wonderful people. It’s a story about friendship and self-discovery, but it’s all delivered in such a lighthearted, funny, and easy to digest way.

I can’t tell you guys enough how much I love this book. Right after I finished it, I instantly added it to my Favorite Books shelf on goodreads.

Just do yourself a favor, read this and watch the movie.

 

Leave a Reply

