Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

Title: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
Edited By: April Genevieve Tucholke
Original Publication Date: August 18th, 2015
Original Price: $18.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 385
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: An anthology of horror stories inspired by myths, movies, legends we all know and love, by 14 of the best horror young adult authors.

Meh on that synopsis really. But anyway, this post will consist of 14 mini reviews for each respective story. When I say mini, I mean MINI.

The Birds of Azalea Street by Nova Ren Suma ★★★✫✫
I instantly knew which movie inspired this story and I enjoyed those aspects to a certain extent. However, the other half of this story was honestly the part I wish Suma would have developed more. It took me a bit to continue this story because I wasn’t being drawn in. But it was an enjoyable story.

In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan ★★★★★
Holy guacamole. I loved this story so so so much. I had never heard of Carrie Ryan but after reading this, I want to read anything she’s ever written ever. This story is one of the most haunting, eerie, and downright creeeeeepy stories in this collection. Ryan has such a distinctly beautiful writing style, this story alone has won my heart over.

Emmeline by Cat Winters ★★★★★
I didn’t know how to feel about this story at first. But the historical aspects of it really drew me in. I  could imagine it truly happening, as weird as that may sound. It was eerie story that was truly, a bit devastating to read.

Verse Chorus Verse by Leigh Bardugo ★★★✫✫
I wanted so badly to love this story. Bardugo is one of my favorite authors but this story just came off a little underdeveloped, which makes sense considering, Bardugo takes her time. The action is built up beautifully and I think trying to confine that into a few pages didn’t entirely help the story. I would definitely like to read this story as a book though because it was a crazy interesting story.

Hide-and-Seek by Megan Shepherd ★★★★✫
Wow with this story too. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It had scary aspects to it but didn’t really hit me hard with it but the story was top-notch and the action. Oh boy. The action in this story was so great! I read through this story so fast because it was just that fast-paced.

The Dark Scary Parts and All by Danielle Paige ★★★★★
I haven’t actually read any Danielle Paige until this story. I love her writing style so much and the story telling was spectacular. However, for someone who dabbles in the horror genre as much as I do, the story was a little predictable but that does not detract from the story at all. It accentuates it’s strong suits because it could easily fall into a classic horror genre.

The Flicker, The Fingers, The Beat, The Sigh by April Genevieve Tucholke ★★★★★
Another one of those authors I hadn’t read/heard of but dude. I loved the inspirations and could definitely see the different aspects in the story. (SPOILERS) I love that she ends up actually getting her revenge in the end because it adds so much to her character. I also am thoroughly convinced that he didn’t imagine the flicker and he actually threw her in alive. Ahhh, so good.

Fat Girl with a Knife by Jonathan Maberry ★★✫✫✫
Well to be completely honest, didn’t really like this story. I liked it up until it got to the
“horror” aspects of the story. I liked the relationships (even though they were bad) between the students and the main character. However, once it gets past the bathroom, it loses me.

Sleepless by Jay Kristoff ★★★★★
By far my favorite story in this collection. If I could give it 7 stars I would because I loved it that much. It’s just such an accurate depiction of society and how dangerous social media and the internet truly can be. It is absolutely terrifying to say the least.

M by Stefan Bachmann ★✫✫✫✫
I don’t even know what to say about this story. I, unfortunately, didn’t like any aspect of it. I hope you guys did.

The Girl Without a Face by Marie Lu ★★★★✫
Oh wow. Again. Never read any Marie Lu but this story definitely made me want to read everything by her. This was one of those truly unsettling stories and I loved all the creepy imagery and language used. It was a somewhat predictable type of story as well but it’s hard to have something be completely original in the horror genre. But so so good.

A Girl Who Dreamed of Snow by McCormick Templeman ★✫✫✫✫
I seriously, can’t remember one thing from this story. Not a single thing. However I do remember the inspiration for the story but even that isn’t helping me remember anything about it. I guess I didn’t like it.

Stitches by A.G. Howard ★★★★★
I wasn’t too into this story at first but the more I read it, the more interesting of a story it truly was. Along with the interesting concept is another extremely devastating story to read. I loved it. It wasn’t very scary or creepy, but more of a haunting sense of beauty and sorrow.

On the I-5 by Kendare Blake ★★★✫✫
I wanted so badly to like this story as well, because I’ve heard nothing but good things about Blake’s writing and other books. However, this story fell a little flat for me as well. It was well-written but I found myself not really caring what was happening.

Leave a Reply

