Top 5 Books || #WorldSuicidePreventionDay

I hope most of you out there know that today is World Suicide Prevention Day. It is a day dedicated to let everyone who is dealing with thoughts of suicide to know that You are NOT alone.

Some of you may know that I have dealt with depression and thoughts of suicide for a good deal of my adolescence and well into my adult life. So this will always be a type of “hot topic” for me. I credit a good deal of my recovery process to reading and writing.

While I was trying to escape my own personal world of troubles and anxiety, I found refuge in many different worlds, including some where the main characters were in their own worlds of troubles. That may sound weird right? Reading books about the same things I was trying to escape out in the real world but it helped. I didn’t feel alone anymore. I didn’t feel lost anymore. I felt…like I found a place where I truly belonged.

So today, for World Suicide Prevention Day, I have made a list of 5 books dealing with suicide and mental health that will definitely change your views of the subject.

suicide

If you or anyone you know is thinking about suicide please contact anyone on this list, including me.

Los Angeles Crisis Hotlines:
-L.A. Co. Mental Health/Crisis Line……..800-854-7771
-Suicide Prevention Center (24 Hours)…….213-381-5111
-Suicide Prevention Crisis Center…….310-391-1253 (24 Hours)
-California Youth Crisis Line……….800-843-5200

National Crisis Hotlines:
-National Youth Crisis Hotline 1-800-448-4663
-SAFE (Self-Abuse Finally Ends) 1-800-DONT-CUT, 1-800-366-8288
-Youth Crisis Hotline: Crisis hotline and information & referral for runaways or youth in crisis 1-800-HIT-HOME, 1-800-448-4663
-National Mental Health Assn. Provides free information on specific disorders, referral directory to mental health providers, national directory of local mental health associations 1-800-969-6642 (M-F, 9-5 EST)
-National Institute of Mental Health Information Line: Provides information and literature on mental illness by disorder-for professionals and general public. 1-800-647-2642

 

CLICK HERE for a complete list of Crisis Hotlines

Trust me, you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

