Teen Angst? Naaah…

Title: Teen Angst? Naaah
Author: Ned Vizzini
Original Publication Date: August 24th, 2000
Original Price: $8.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 279
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: A collection of personal essays by famed Young Adult author, the late, Ned Vizzini

As you all probably know by now, Ned Vizzini and his work have spoken miles to me about dealing with mental illness and depression. Even after reading that one sentence, I’m sure you can tell I had very very high hopes and expectations for this book. That was entirely my fault. I shouldn’t have assumed all his work would be the best things I’ve ever read.

Although the writing was the same, the subject matter was not. It was a book of personal essays from his Middle School life up until his last days in High School. But I just couldn’t relate to his younger self.

In the edition I have, it has an afterword, in which Vizzini discusses what happened to his friends and detailing some points of his life after the book was originally published and I found myself only truly loving the afterword.

I’m pretty much assuming now that I couldn’t relate because our mindsets were so different. Like the reason I loved It’s Kind of a Funny Story is because even though it was a YA book, there was something I could relate to. There was an aspect to it that spoke to the broken person in me. No matter how far into this book I got, there wasn’t anything I could relate to.

With that aside, it was a well-written look into the lives of the young adult outcasts of the world. It was funny and I’m sure it can be relate-able for some readers but unfortunately not for me.

I recommend this book to fans of Vizzini and fans of non-fiction/memoirs.

Leave a Reply

