Since You’ve Been Gone

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone
Author: Morgan Matson
Original Publication Date: May 6th, 2014
Original Price: $17.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 449
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: Emily and Sloane are best friends. Inseparable since they first met. Except for this summer, when Sloane mysteriously disappears.

This is a book that relies heavily on the bond and friendship of teenage girls. I’ve never really had a friend or friendship like Emily and Sloane’s so for a good chunk of the book, I didn’t get it. I didn’t really like how Emily seemed a little obsessed with Sloane but the more I read, the more I understood. I won’t ever truly feel that way, but I can definitely understand, after reading this book, what it must be like.

I related so deeply to Emily. She’s a little shy, reserved, and a little scared of getting out of her comfort zone. Sloane helped her, especially when she was gone.

This is truly a coming of age tale of a reserved girl, coming into her own and being her true self. I found it beautiful. I just deeply wished I could have read this book in high school. Emily’s character development was wonderful. Honestly, in the beginning of the book, she didn’t seem very likable but by the end, she grew into her own actual person.

I especially loved that the romance was not the main aspect of the story. Yes, it was there, and yes, it was swoon worthy but it wasn’t the main deal. It was all about Emily and her growth.

Morgan Matson is an extremely gifted writer, and an extremely wonderful and kind person. I can not wait to read more of her work ❤

Leave a Reply

