Yes!: My Improbable Journey to the Main Event of WrestleMania

Title: Yes!: My Improbable Journey to the Main Event of WrestleMania
Author: Daniel Bryan
Original Publication Date: July 21st, 2015
Original Price: $25.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 320
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Synopsis: Daniel Bryan recounts his life up until the most defining points of his personal life and career. Detailing his time traveling with superstar Shawn Michael’s until his main event match at Wrestlemania 30.

I’m definitely a fan of wrestling so this book instantly appealed to me. However, the book started off a little meh. This book is written from two perspectives, Daniel Bryan and Craig Tello. Tello’s words are the first you read and to be honest, it’s a little daunting. Although I see what they were going for with the two different voices, I just didn’t really like it. I was even going to rate the book down because I didn’t like Tello’s style. But Bryan’s work was so good, I didn’t let the parts I didn’t like hold the book back.

As I have stated, the book details Bryan’s entire wrestling career up until Wrestlemania 30. Bryan did an excellent job developing the “plot” by incorporating funny and relatable anecdotes that shine light  on the wrestling business as a whole, as well as on his character both on and off the screen. It was a very easy read. I especially loved knowing wrestlers he mentions as well as story-lines and promotions Bryan was a part of. It felt like being a part of a tighter knit community.

His anecdotes were extremely heartfelt and evoked emotion. The notable stories nearly brought me to tears. The ending ties it all together and adds insight into a deeply heart-wrenching life. I would definitely recommend this book to any fan of wrestling as well as anyone interested in wrestling.

Leave a Reply

