Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny

Title: Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny
Author: Holly Madison
Original Publication Date: June 23rd, 2015
Original Price: $25.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 352
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Synopsis: A juicy, first person account of the life of a former Playboy Bunny.

I get it, this book sounds cheesy, but it isn’t. I’m also sure this book and Holly Madison herself have a bit of a bad connotation to them. I don’t know why though. Madison detailed her accounts at the Playboy mansion in an extremely real way. This memoir recounts her life from her early twenties up until now.

It’s very easy to pass Holly Madison off as a ditzy and “plastic” starlet but what this book succeeds in doing is humanizing her. Her story shines light on very important issues of emotional abuse, depression, and suicide.

Although her experiences are ultimately unique, they are relatable. I found myself comparing the abuse to my past relationships and seeing how easily it can get out of hand. Holly Madison did a wonderful job of telling her story. This book was well written and can definitely show any person how educated she truly is. Her story definitely made me feel for her as well as relate to her on levels I never thought would happen. This book truly teaches the reader a great deal about Playboy as a brand, reality television, and of course, Hugh Hefner.

The pacing of the story was wonderful as well. It starts fast and sucks the reader right into the web of Playboy’s ways. I especially loved that each chapter started with a quote from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland but it still truly told you what the next chapter was going to be about.

My only complaint is that it could have used more pictures. When she spoke of specific outfits or Playboy shoots, I would have loved to see what she was talking about. But, I understand why all these pictures couldn’t have been used.

But overall, I would definitely recommend this to fans of Holly Madison, Girls Next Door, or Playboy.

Leave a Reply

