The 100

Title: The 100
Author: Kass Morgan
Original Publication Date: January 1st, 2013
Original Price: $10 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 323
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: A nuclear as wiped out life on Earth, but a Space Station’s worth of people made it out. However, the people who commit crimes on this Space Station are receiving a different punishment, rather than rot in jail, they’re being sent back to EARTH! DUNDUNDUN

But for real, doesn’t even my lame synopsis make it sound super cool? That’s because it’s a super cool concept! The more you read and watch tv or movies, the post apocalyptic thing gets old, and I totally get that. It’s this reason that I didn’t really give The 100 a shot until way after I had heard about it. I’ll credit my true discovery to this book to my lovely co-worker Erika. She gave me a synopsis much like the one I’ve given you and I needed to read it.

The story was told in interchanging points of view between 4 very distinct characters. They were all strong and of different social classes, races, and backgrounds. They’ve all committed a crime but their reasoning behind them are entirely different from the last. Morgan does a spectacular job at portraying a very diverse group of characters as well as shining light on various social issues we face in the real world today. They’re very subtle nuances that do not go unappreciated.

As for the pacing of the story, I felt it dragged in the beginning but mind you, I started this book at jury duty and was already in a dragging state of mind. Maybe when I re-read, I’ll find it faster. But for me, it did not start truly picking up until the middle of the book. When they’re on Earth, it get’s REAL. While the last 100 pages were very action packed and truly got me hooked on the story.

I seriously can’t wait to continue this series!

2 thoughts on “The 100

  1. Annie says:

    I’ve only seen the TV show, but I watched the first two seasons in three days o___O I’ve heard it’s a lot different than the book, but the overall premise is fantastic!

    Annie @ Indoor Sojourner

Leave a Reply

