Burn for Burn

Title: Burn for Burn
Author: Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian
Original Publication Date: January 1st, 2012
Original Price: $9.99 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 368
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: Three young women are scoured and vow to take revenge on those who hurt them.

I got this and the sequel on a whim from the Goodwill. I had never heard of the books and at this point, I had never heard of Jenny Han or Siobhan Vivian either. When I read the synopsis, I was super interested. But that was a long time ago. The third book in the series had come out and I still hadn’t even opened up the first book. I’m the worst. I finally decided to hunker down and freaking read it. My biggest regret: not reading this the second I got it.

I love the mix of writing styles. They complimented each other so well. I couldn’t even tell who had written what because it just flowed together so perfectly. I fully enjoyed the contemporary aspects as well as all the surprises laced throughout. However, a lot of people didn’t like the mix of genres in this book, I loved it.

This book totally surprised me. I didn’t think I was going to like it nearly as much as I did. Once I finished this book, I was so excited to finish off the series.

It was a truly suspenseful story. Every chapter had its own bit of drama to keep the reader interested until the very end. The characters were sometimes hard to like, because they were honestly, a little bitchy. But they come full circle and get past their own prejudices and vices. Its relatable and just plain good.

I look forward to reading more of Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian’s work!

Leave a Reply

