Harley Quinn: Preludes and Knock Knock Jokes

Title: Harley Quinn: Preludes and Knock Knock Jokes
Author: Karl Kessel
Original Publication Date: January 27, 2009
Original Price: $19.99 (paperback)
Number of Pages: 192
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: A collection of stories following Harley Quinn trying to make it in the crime world without her iconic (ex) boyfriend.

Honestly, I’m still not exactly sure how I feel about this book. I love Harley. She’s hands down my favorite character from the Batman series, which is why it’s always so hard for me to judge a book about her. I definitely liked the book but I wasn’t wow’d by it. It just wasn’t one of my favorite interpretations of the Harley Quinn character, but I can’t quite place my finger on why not.

I mean I liked it, for these reasons:

1. Harley seems so absolutely empowered by her lack of a boyfriend. Harley Quinn is a strong, independent woman who don’t need no man

2. She’s so much more menacing and conniving in this book than I’ve ever seen her portrayed.

The writing style just wasn’t for me. It was a tad lack luster. However, I really did like the last story and the switch between art, but I didn’t really understand the reasoning behind it.

The art was very very traditional and that little mix up of art styles definitely spiced up the book a bit.

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate this book, it just wasn’t what I was expecting. (but I also don’t really know what I was expecting.

One thought on “Harley Quinn: Preludes and Knock Knock Jokes

Leave a Reply

