A World Without Books

Have you ever thought about it? Honestly, I probably haven’t thought about this since my first time reading Fahrenheit 451 but I’ve definitely been thinking about it more and more lately.

For those of you who don’t know, I am part of The Hundred. What is “The Hundred”, you ask? It is an exclusive group of advanced readers for Ashley Mansour’s debut YA Dystopian Novel: Blood, Ink, & Fire.

Synopsis:

IN A WORLD WITHOUT BOOKS,
THE POWER OF A STORY HAS NEVER BEEN GREATER…

In a future where reading is forbidden and books have been eliminated by the controlling power of Fell, a girl hiding an obsession with words discovers a mysterious volume linked to an underworld of rebel book lovers known as The Nine of the Rising.

Which raises the question, What do you think a world without books would be like?

In my humble opinion, I wouldn’t like it. I know, blunt and straight to the point. But it’s true. A world without books would be terrible. Books (and the stories and words in them) are a beautiful art-form and without them, some would have no way of expressing themselves.

But not only that, society would be royally EFFED UP. We have attention issues now. We have never seen such a spike in attention disorders like we do in our own day and age. How much worse would it be without books? How much worse would it be without the instant gratification humans so badly crave. We’d have much more instagrams and snapchats than wordpresses or wattpads, because nobody would want to take the time to use their minds and visualize something that came out of someone else’s imagination.

A world without books would be a dark, dark place and I want nothing to do with it. That’s why it’s my mission to #KeepBooksAlive.

One thought on “A World Without Books

  1. Milliebot says:

    If all the books in the world were to disappear tomorrow, I don’t know what I would do! I honestly don’t think I could survive without reading. And you’re right – there’s so much technology at our fingertips, yet it all seems to be made for short bursts of attention.

Leave a Reply

