Hinges: Clockwork City

I received this comic through NETGALLEY in exchange for an honest review. (So, no I don’t really have a picture of it…YET)

Title: Hinges: Book 1 Clockwork City
Author: Meredith McClaren
Original Publication Date: March 10th, 2015
Original Price: $15.99 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 112
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Synopsis: A (now published) fantasy webcomic about a doll named Orio and her odd companion Bauble.

Honestly, I was pretty iffy about this one. I didn’t really know what it was about but the cover intrigued me dearly, so I decided, “why the f not?” and I’m so very glad I did. I had never heard about HInges or Meredith McClaren but I’m so glad that I have now. This book was amazing. I’ve never looked a character and instantly decided I wanted to cosplay as her.

Orio is so simple, yet so complex. She has a plain white dress and long dark hair but she’s beautiful! Every character in this book is drawn so beautifully. It is an art style I instantly fell in love with. It’s whimsical but a tad reminiscent of Anime.

Something that struck me as odd but so very effective is that our protagonist, Orio, hardly speaks, but let me tell you, that doesn’t mean that she is a flat character. You grow to feel for her throughout the 100+ pages, as well as adorable little Bauble.

It is absolutely amazing how effective the themes and storytelling are simply through beautifully drawn panels.

I will definitely continue to read this series and I’ve never been more glad to try my hand at something new.

2 thoughts on “Hinges: Clockwork City

  1. One Curvy Blogger says:

    For some reason, I have been having amazing luck with publisher novels that first appear as webcomics. Such as Pusheen -didn’t even know it existed until I reviewed a copy for NetGalley a couple years ago and now I’m in love ❤ Will have to try this one. I can see why you were attracted, the cover is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

