What Is This Thing Called Love: Poems

Title: What Is This Thing Called Love: Poems
Author: Kim Addonizio
Original Publication Date: January 8th, 2004
Original Price: $16.95 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 128
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: Collection of poems by Kim Addonizio

I shouldn’t really write a synopsis for a poetry book  right?

Remember how I said I was taking a Verse Writing class? Well this is an assigned reading from this class. I had originally never truly saw myself finishing the book. I wasn’t too interested from the beginning and honestly, I never actually gained any interest. It was always kind of just there.

The book is split up into five sections ranging from Love, Death, Alcohol, etc. Each very short sections that could be read in less than 20 minutes each. There were some pretty great poems but they were hidden among rather meh poems.

Here’s a problem I’ll always have and have always had with poetry: It just reads pretentious. Maybe it’s just me (It’s probably only me) but I feel like some poetry tries to sound too smart or just like, it’s trying too hard. Which is one of the main reasons that I was excited for this class.

But yeah, I feel like this book is full of poems like this. However, I do sort of feel like my opinions about poetry are growing with my age and experience,  because before, I probably would have just written off the whole book as “TOO PRETENTIOUS”.

I hate to compare this book to another poetry book about love I’ve recently read, but I still will, and honestly I liked the other one better. But this book wasn’t terrible. It just wasn’t my speed.

Leave a Reply

