All The Bright Places – Review + Nail Art

IMG_1792

Title: All the Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Original Publication Date: January 6th, 2015
Original Price: $17.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 388
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: This is the story of a boy named Finch and a girl named Violet and their relationship after meeting on the roof of the tallest building at school.

This book is pretty spectacular. I borrowed it and less than half way through, I knew I had to have my own copy. The story of these two characters is so beautifully written, that while reading, you feel the love and raw emotion they each respectively feel.

Niven chose the wise decision to tell the story from each point of view. This was done wonderfully through interchanging chapters. Niven’s voice as both characters was amazing. I seriously could not tell that both perspectives were written by the same woman. Finch and Violet are so distinctly different and yet so similar, it’s a little eerie to see into their minds.

As you may know, this novel deals with very many difficult themes, including, suicide, death,  family, and mental health. Niven portrays each of these in an absolutely relateable way. Niven came up with an extended metaphor for Finch’s boughts of depression in which he calls them “falling asleep” and “staying awake”.  I had never heard depression described in such a spot on and poignant way.

Another thing I found eeriely interesting was Finch’s near obsession with death. He inserted stats about suicide whenever he had the chance and honestly, it works. It kind of brings the situation to light and causes you to think a little deeper about the situation.

Overall, I loved this book. You  may be saying, “Well. Starkiller, if you loved this book so much, why the four stars rather than five?”

Honestly, because the story is a little predictable. I love the characters, their voices, the tone, and style of this novel but I felt like I knew what was going to happen next. Don’t get me wrong, I still shed some tears throughout the book, even while predicting a couple things, but I just wanted to be a little more surprised.

What did you all think of the book? Do you agree or disagree with me? Why?
Let me know in the comments below 🙂

 

Now, as promised, here is a short (26 second) video on how to add a little of ATBP into your style.

IMG_1790

IMG_1791

(It’s literally just a hyperlapse video but I thought I’d share it anyway. [there is also no audio, oops])

One thought on “All The Bright Places – Review + Nail Art

  1. Pingback: Starkiller Reads

Leave a Reply

