Good Bye 2014, Hello 2015!

2014 was a hectic year for me. It was filled with tons of ups but nearly surpassed by even more downs.

It was the year I fell in love with reading all over again. As well as the year that I opened up this blog and finally committed to making my dreams come true. I buckled down and type-type-typed my little fingers away, putting my thoughts and opinions about the things I cared about out there on the internet.

It may not seem like a monumental step but bare in mind, I’m incredibly reserved about my writing. This is the first step to actually allowing other people to read my more creative works, rather than my personal essays about entertainment.

Everything seemed to be going fine.

But deep down inside I didn’t feel right. I felt myself swirling downward into a hole of self-loathing and self-doubt. When my first semester at a Cal State University came around, I lost it. I lost sight of what I wanted to do and who I wanted to be. I became someone angry and sad, skipping class only to spend that time crying.

2014 is the year I was diagnosed with clinical depression.

If it weren’t for you all, this blog, and the help of those closest to me, I wouldn’t have the courage to still be here. I feel accepted, cared for, and even wanted while writing and I thank you all for helping me realize that I am special.

So, for 2015, I vow to get better. Not just have more “good days” than bad, but to full on get better. I know I can do it.

Because 2014 also marks the year I met Jason Segel and Leigh Bardugo, two of my heroes. So I just have to hang onto the happiness I felt in their presence.

But enough of that heavy stuff.

This PopSugar reading challenge has been making it’s rounds around  the world wide web and I’m very keen on trying to complete this challenge to my fullest capacity.

My resolutions for 2015 are those two things.

1. Get Better
2. Complete as many of these challenges as possible
oh and 3. Continue this blog

 

What are your resolutions and are you accepting the 2015 PopSugar Reading Challenge?

 

Leave a Reply

