The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I got the kindle book, so unless you want a glare filled picture of my kindle, here you go.

Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Original Publication Date: February 1999
Original Price: $14.00
Number of Pages: 221
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: Charlie loses a friend and decides to write letters detailing his life to a random person in order to cope with not only his loss, but his life.

UGH.

Unpopular opinion alert. So literally all my bookish friends told me to read this book. They ranted and raved about how amazing and relate-able it was and blah-blah-blah. I don’t want to sound like a supreme douche because I did not absolutely hate it;  I just did not prefer it, would not recommend it to anyone, or ever read it again.

This book is 221 pages. I took me literally one full year to read 221 pages. It felt so dragged on. I did not like how Charlie wrote or sounded. He was too whiney and angsty. I imagine Charlie to be the Holden Caulfield that everyone hated when I loved him. Keep in mind though, I read The Catcher in the Rye when I was reeally angsty. So again, in my teenage angst, I might have truly loved this book. But in my twenties, I’m not a fan.

Charlie’s relationships with various people were sometimes weird and forced. The spin the bottle scene, like no boy would really do that right? How disrespectful can you really be? Well, I guess teenage boys can be really disrespectful. Nice boy Charlie sure was.

Also, what was it with his sister and getting hit? No. I pictured her to be like Kevin Arnold’s sister from The Wonder Years. She’s somewhat a feminist character but there are so many instances where the sister in this book is the exact opposite. I know I brought that on myself because there is like nowhere in the text that says anything about her being a feminist…but still. Let me rant about things I made up.

While 75% of the book was extremely hard to read for me, the last 25% is where I was actually drawn in. It gets so raw and so real, so emotional. That’s where the relate-ability finally came into play for me. I could feel how Charlie felt. I could wallow in his sorrow with him. It was beautiful. It was eye-opening.

But I definitely liked the movie better. It encapsulated what I feel the book was going for but just didn’t get around to doing.

 

Ok, you can throw your hate at me.

Leave a Reply

