Curtain Call by Dan Ryckert

Title:Curtain Call: How An Unscripted Goodbye Changed The Course Of Pro Wrestling
Author: Dan Ryckert
Original Publication Date: February 11th, 2014
Original Price: $2.99 (Kindle e-book)
Number of Pages: ???
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: In the late 1990’s WWF was at its’ prime but the departure of two of its’ biggest stars was a weight on the shoulders of everyone in the company. But were it not for the unscripted actions of the company’s biggest stars, the course professional wrestling took, may never have happened.

Okay. I liked it because it had to do with wrestling. I also liked it because it wasn’t terribly written. I didn’t love it because it was a little too one-sided. It made Scott Hall and Kevin Nash seem like they were the only reason the WWF (now WWE) are still around. Like if it weren’t for them (and Shawn Michaels, Triple H, and X-Pac) that the Monday Night Wars would never have happened. Which may be true but come on, give more credit where it’s due. Not just to 5 guys.

I also didn’t love it because it was too short. It was like the first chapter to a bigger, longer, much better book. It works GREAT as an intro to something else but just how it is… it fell short of what it could have been. I hope Ryckert continues to write about wrestling and eventually complies all his writings into one big thing because I’m sure I’d like it more then. Instead of being left with a sour taste in my mouth for paying $3 for 50 pages.

If it were $1, I might have liked it more because I’d be more inclined to “you get what you pay for” but I’ve paid less for much more. So, yes, my biggest complaint is the price to page ratio. Boom. BUT. If you’re a fan of wrestling and don’t care about e-book prices, it’s a good, quick, short read. And it is actually quite enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

