The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

Cute picture, I know.

Cute picture, I know.

Title: The Great Gatsby
Author: F Scott Fitzgerald
Original Publication Date: April 10th, 1925
Original Price: $2 (in 1925 and $14.99 now)
Number of Pages: 180
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Synopsis: Daisy and Jay: A Not so Cute Love Story. But oh so much more.

Honestly, I don’t think I need a synopsis for this book. Everyone should have read it by now and if you haven’t, please do. It’ll do you wonders. It’s excellent. Fitzgerald did an amazing job capturing the era. Of course, it was only through the eyes of the more fortunate in the country, but it still feels like you’re sent right back to the 20’s. The characters of George and Myrtle really showed what it was like to live on the other side. And, in a way, I loved that Buchanan’s mistress was someone of a “lesser” status. He seemed to really “love” her too. SPOILER: when he found out about her death, he seemed truly devastated. I can’t imagine what it would be like to find out your wife killed your mistress too. What a situation to be in. 

The ending was great. I completely did not see it coming whatsoever. It was SO good. 

MOVIE NOTES:

I saw the movie before I read the book and I seriously think that it was one of the most spot on adaptations I’ve ever seen. Yeah, a few things were changed but nothing that detracted from the story AT ALL. I loved both the book and the movie so much. I especially loved the music and the imagery. It was so damn beautiful. The colors were so vibrant and almost dream or fantasy-like. Which, honestly, could be a metaphor for how Gatsby saw Daisy, and over-romanticized version of what she used to be. The music though, perfect. It was a mixture of the modern-day and the past and I definitely would not have chosen any other genre of music. PERF.

One thought on “The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

Leave a Reply

