The Cellar by Natasha Preston

Not a well thought out photo..

Not a well thought out photo..

Title: The Cellar
Author: Natasha Preston
Original Publication Date: March 1st, 2014
Original Price: $9.99 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 347
Starkiller Rating: ★★★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: Summer is your typical hard-headed teenage girl, but one day, her stubbornness gets her kidnapped by a man who only calls her Lily. She is then thrown down into a cellar with 3 other girls. Rose, Violet, and Poppy. 

Okay, so let me give you a little background on this book. Natasha Preston is a wattpad author who self-published this story. Honestly, that’s a pretty inspiring story in its own. I’d absolutely love to have this happen to me. I’d love to write a story like this, have a following, and soon find the book on the shelf of a local Barnes and Noble. Amazing.

Now for the actual story, it was good. Not great. Not bad. Just, plain old, good. There was a distinct “creep factor”, which, at times, actually worked. I found myself not wanting to look through dark windows. The story was told through different points of view. The main three being, Clover (the kidnapper), Summer (Lily), and her boyfriend, Lewis. It was very well written. Each character seemed like a different person. There were little to no signs that the same person wrote them all. They were all so very different. Colin’s background story is unnerving and a tad…sad. Preston, almost, humanizes him. I say almost, because she did try, but he was just so evil that there was no way I was going to feel sorry for him. 

Spoilers:

The one thing I didn’t like was the drawn out ending. I felt like the book should have ended at the hospital. It just felt like a desperate attempt at adding more words to the count. However, I did enjoy the story. I just didn’t LOVE it. 

Leave a Reply

