Landline by Rainbow Rowell

 

So pretty. <3

So pretty. ❤

Title: Landline
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Original Publication Date: July 8th, 2014
Original Price: $24.99 (Hardcover)
Number of Pages: 308
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: Georgie’s marriage is failing and her only hope is her yellow rotary telephone from the 90’s.

So remember when I read Fangirl a while back? I didn’t get the buzz around Rowell’s book. I was, however, willing to give her another chance. I wanted to read Eleanor and Park but was handed an advanced copy of Landline. It surprised me, to say the least. I absolutely LOVED this story. Rowell made me feel. Like actually feeeeeeeeeel. It was beautiful. It was so easy to identify with Georgie. Who hasn’t been caught in a relationship that somehow ended south with no true warning? (ooo, depressing.) Everyone has that best friend that “could have been”.

It’s masterful. Landline has become one of my favorites. Not only for the wonderfully executed character development but for all its excellence in setting as well. From Calabasas to Reseda (places I definitely know…maybe not love. But definitely know), to Omaha. I’ve never been to Omaha but my goodness, Rowell’s descriptions of snow. I could read them over and over again. I’ve never truly seen snow but I totally felt like I knew what it was like to see it falling from the sky. Or what it was like to feel it against my skin.

Ugh. I can’t get over how much I loved this book.

2 thoughts on “Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Roothana says:

    I’ve never experienced snow as well. I felt the excitement in your review or maybe I’m just excited to get a copy of this. I haven’t seen this book in our bookstores yet might go and check again soon. Ooooo I can’t wait to feeeeeel it too. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Starkiller Reads

Leave a Reply

