All You Need is Kill/Edge of Tomorrow

booooooooks.

booooooooks.

Title: All You Need is Kill
Author: Hiroshi Sakurazaka
Original Publication Date: July 21st, 2009
Original Price: $13.99 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 230
Starkiller Rating: ★★★★✫

Quick Synopsis: It’s pretty much a military Sci-Fi Groundhogs Day.

I’m honestly not very interested in military or adult sci-fi stories but whoa. It took me a minute to get into this book but I’m so very glad I stuck it out. This book very pleasantly surprised me. I chose to read it because Edge of Tomorrow (starring Tom Cruise and Emily Blunt) was based off the book and, let’s face it, I’m a huge Tom Cruise fangirl. But anyway, I love how this story is written. It isn’t too smart or too dumb. One of my main reasons for not fully enjoying sci-fi is  the simple fact that I don’t understand a lot of “science talk”. So if a story is too science heavy, I zone out. This book had just the right amount. And the parts that were about science/technology was explained perfectly. Easy too follow and …seemed legit. I fully recommend this book. If you’re into military stories, read it. If you’re into sci-fi, read it. If you’re into robot suits, read it. If you’re into aliens, read it. If you’re into good books, read it. I love this book and its ending.

Rita/Keiji forever ❤

I saw the movie yesterday and ah. I loved it. I flippin’ loved it. It’s such a good sci-fi/action flick. It did change a few things from the book but it did not, in no way, detract from the story. I’m not positive whether or not I liked one more than the other but what I can say, is that this story is so good, it was told exceptionally in both aspects (film and paper). Kudos to the author, screenwriters, director, and actors. So good.

also. SPOILER ALERT!!!

the ending was different and my friends hated it but I, for one, absolutely love a happy ending. Especially because I shipped them so hard, I couldn’t even deal. So, I hope that in the movie world they end up together, in complete love.

One thought on “All You Need is Kill/Edge of Tomorrow

  1. Milliebot says:

    I totally understand how you feel about too much tech talk. I am a big fan of sci-fi, and I do like technological details, but when they use too many unfamiliar terms I can’t focus either.

Leave a Reply

