Graduates in Wonderland by Jessica Pan and Rachel Kapelke-Dale

Look how pretty I set this up.

Look how pretty I set this up.

Title: Graduates in Wonderland
Author: Jessica Pan and Rachel Kapelke-Dale
Original Publication Date: May 6th, 2014
Original Price: $17.00 (Paperback)
Number of Pages: 304
Starkiller Rating: ★✫✫

Quick Synopsis: Two college graduates venture out into the real world. This is the transition between student to real-life adult, as documented by their weekly emails.

At the beginning  of the book I thought Jessica was outrageously pretentious. She just kept talking about everything great that she did and ugh, it was just so annoying. She was such a try-hard. Rachel was just so much more cool and relatable. But reading more, I realized that a lot of things just read like a story. It didn’t seem like two friends e-mailing each other. They kept reminding us about things. Like, Jessica said numerous times that she was half-Chinese. It’s like, okay, I get it. You’re part Chinese. Good for you. It’s just stuff that two people who have been friends for four years need to keep reminding each other about.

However, the more I read it. The more I realized how much I actually hated Rachel. She was the definition of “thirsty”. She was actually the “try-hard”. She just would not shut up about how she needs a man. Jessica, on the other hand, got a job I’d love. Met a guy she fell deeply in love with and just did so much. She was the cool one. She’s the one I ended up wanting to be like.

It was entertaining enough. Nothing too amazing but an interesting idea and well executed.

2 thoughts on “Graduates in Wonderland by Jessica Pan and Rachel Kapelke-Dale

  1. Milliebot says:

    Personally, I absolutely loved this book and had no issues with either character. But I totally get your point about the issues the girls kept repeating – you’re right, best friends wouldn’t bring up something like being half-Chinese over and over. However, you do have to think that it’s been modified for readers, so maybe they felt that they needed to make it seem more like a story to keep people connected? Not sure.

    • starkillerreads says:

      I totally get you! I figure that’s what the repeating was about. I went from downright hating this book to actually enjoying it. For some reason, I just could not get into it at first. By the end though, I was so into Jessica’s half of the story haha I’m not even sure why Rachel rubbed me the wrong way. Hahah

Leave a Reply

