I Remember Beirut by Zeina Abirached

I have nothing clever to say.

I have nothing clever to say.

 

Title: I Remember Beirut
Author: Zeina Abirached
Original Publication Date: Oct 14, 2014
Original Price: $9.95 (Paperback)
My Price: Free (ARC)
Number of Pages: 96

Quick Synopsis: Zeina Abirached recounts her childhood in Beirut, during the 1980’s civil war between the Christians and the Muslims.

 

Anybody remember Persepolis? Yeah? Good. Just stick to Persepolis. Don’t get me wrong. I didn’t hate this book. I just didn’t really prefer it. It has a lot of potential and reads that way as well. Abirached, touches on very real, very dramatic things that could have been far more elaborated on. You might think, “but it’s a comic book” again, I point you to Persepolis. Satrapi has some very key, monumental things in her book and, I’m sorry but, I couldn’t pinpoint anything in this book that moved me in the slightest besides the chuckle I let out when she got her hair cut. Over all, this just wasn’t one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

