Black Canary and Zatanna: Bloodspell by Paul Dini

Babes. Yeah. I'm objectifying fictional comic book girls. Sue me...no I'm jk. Don't sue me.

Babes. Yeah. I’m objectifying fictional comic book girls. Sue me…no I’m jk. Don’t sue me.

 

Title: Black Canary and Zatanna: Bloodspell
Author: Paul Dini
Original Publication Date: May 27, 2014
Original Price: $22.99 (Hardcover)
My Price: Free (ARC)
Number of Pages: 144

Quick Synopsis: A year ago, Dinah infiltrated a group of women criminals in an attempt to take-down their vicious leader. But this women had a different plan; instead of letting the authorities to get her, she killed herself. Fast forward to the same day, a year later, the members of this group of criminals are being attacked and the Black Canary needs help from the ever-talented, Zatanna.

First, major babe alert. Ok, now that we’re done with that, the story is great. It has everything. Humor, drama, explosions, and seriously badass girls. I’ve seen some people say that the art was “too cartoony” but…I mean, you kind of know what you’re getting. It’s DC. DC Superheroes. Some of their best are cartoony. The art was reminiscent of Batman: The Animated Series, and hey, the Animated Series was seriously one of the best tv shows ever.

The beginning showed a great “first meeting” between the two girls that really set up their relationship. They also set up Dinah and Ollie’s relationship adorably! Green Arrow and Black Canary are the cutest and I’m crazy glad that they had him for at least a couple pages. This book had plenty of hilarious cameos, from Batman to Superman. And to a nerd, it was greatly appreciated.

The story is not the strongest. It is not emotionally moving. But that’s not what I was expecting from this story and anybody who rates it low because it isn’t a particularly moving or life-changing story is somebody I definitely not someone I want to associate with. Because this story was a great comic book story and was executed wonderfully. Go out and read it.

 

Leave a Reply

