The F– It List by Julie Halpern

Found on Google. Will eventually replace with my own picture...maybe.

Found on Google. Will eventually replace with my own picture…maybe.

Title: The F– It List
Author
: Julie Halpern
Original Publication Date: November 12th, 2013
Original Price: $16.99 (Hardcover)
My Price: Free (ARC)
Number of Pages: 256

Quick Synopsis: Becca and Alex are the best of friends. That is, until Alex’s father dies, Becca has sex with Alex’s boyfriend, and Alex wants them out of her lives. But on the first day of the semester, Alex gets word that Becca was diagnosed with cancer over the summer. Rekindling their relationship, Alex vows to help Becca accomplish a list she created full of things she wants to do before she dies…a fuck it list.

As far as young adult novels go, this is one of my favorite lesser known ones. It has so much going for it. It has tragedy, horror, love, loss, friendship, and extremely relate able characters.I love this book but I do have a few..concerns about it. Like the fact that it’s called, “The F– It List” would lead you to believe it’s a book about two girls’ friendship blossoming through tragedy. I definitely thought it was going to be a bunch of pages of them just doing the crazy things on Becca’s list, but it totally wasn’t. The book was almost entirely about Alex, which was a surprise, but a pleasant one. Alex’s character is one of the best Realistic Young Adult Fiction main characters I’ve had the pleasure of reading about. Alex fears relationships even with the boy she’s been pining over for years, Leo. She continuously blames her father’s death and Becca’s cancer on herself. But overall, she makes a change for the better. I also forgot a major part of why Alex is so damn cool. She LOVES horror. That’s just my kind of gal.
Also, can we talk about how adorable Leo Dietz is? I imagine him as a slight ginger. Cute freckles, kind of bad ass looking but still a nerd. Ugh. I think I found my new fictional boyfriend.

Leave a Reply

