Looking for Alaska by John Green

found on google.

found on google.

Title: Looking for Alaska
Author: John Green
Original Publication Date: January 14, 2014 (December 28, 2006)
Original Price: $18.99 (Collecter’s Edition: Hardcover)
My Price: Free (borrowed)
Number of Pages: 272

Quick Synopsis: A coming of age story about a boy named Miles. He decides to go to a boarding school due to his lack of friends or a life in his current school. His roommate is nicknamed The Colonel and, in turn, nicknames Miles, Pudge. For irony’s sake. The Colonel then introduces Pudge to the hottest girl he’s ever laid eyes on, Alaska: A chain smoking smart ass who has more books than she can ever read.

 

Wow. Is it bad to say that I didn’t want to like this book? Because I really, really, didn’t want to like it. It didn’t start off slow or anything, I just didn’t want to give into the hype. Without hyping it up though, it was great. Superb. I became emotionally invested in these multiple teenage characters and I don’t regret it for a second.

The colonel is so smart. All around. He has some issues, but then again, who doesn’t right? The dynamic between the colonel and Pudge is a thing of beauty. It’ll make you nostalgic for your high school friends. Alaska, though. She continuously rubbed me the wrong way and I couldn’t figure out why. It’s because I could relate to her personality. Anyone can relate to any, if not all, these characters so wonderfully.

I gotta give John Green some credit man, he made me feel for teenagers more now than I did when I was an actual teenager.

3 thoughts on “Looking for Alaska by John Green

  1. Pingback: Starkiller Reads

Leave a Reply

