It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

found on google.

found on google.

This post is dedicated to the memory and work of Ned Vizzini.

Quick Synopsis: Craig is a 15 year old boy who is severely depressed. On the brink of suicide, he decides to call a hotline, where they encourage him to go to a hospital. And it’s at this hospital, that Craig realizes just how messed up he and the rest of the world is.

At first glance, it may seem like a sad premise and hey, yeah, it really is. But it’s super realistic. I think people like to forget that being a teenager is stupid hard. It may not be as hard as adulthood but being thrown into high school and being told that everything matters and everything that’s happening now will shape the rest of your life and if you don’t do it now or right, then you’re fucked. Adults just add too much unneeded stress in teenagers and Vizzini really captures that beautifully.

This story is so highly believable and so highly relate-able. Vizzini captured the way teenagers speak and the problems they face on a daily basis. I absolutely adore this book. From beginning to end, I loved it. The 2010 film had various differences throughout. The biggest I could see was the relationship between two of the characters: Craig and Bobby. In the film, they hang out with each other practically all the time. In the book, however, Craig actually hangs out with Humble for majority of the time. It doesn’t change how meaningful the story is, not at all, just thought I’d mention it. Also, obviously, the book goes into so much more detail about how Craig got there and how he got bad. I loved that. I felt myself feeling tremendously for him.

The only thing I can say about this novel is that I wish I would have read it earlier. I wish I would have read it while Ned Vizzini was still alive. This book had so much meaning to me and I’m not exactly sure if it’s because I know how troubled the author was and how it effected his life, and..how his life turned out. It just makes me so tremendously sad. But it wasn’t my life, and I don’t know the severity of his condition and all I can do is continue to read his work and continue to see myself in it as well.

RIP Ned Vizzini

1981-2013

Leave a Reply

