The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Image

Quick Synopsis: Hazel Grace Lancaster has cancer meets Augustus Waters, who, at one point, had cancer himself. Love/feels/tears ensue.

It’s kind of at that crazy point now where if you haven’t read the book yet, then what the heck is wrong with you and your life, ya’ know. So of course, working at Barnes and Noble, and have a trillion of these in the store, I had to read it. Funny thing is, I didn’t even get it from work, I got it last week from my local Target: signed, WITH the DVD. Whoop whoop!

Anyway, back to what you came here for. Yes. This is by far the cutest love story I’ve had the pleasure of reading. Much cuter than Katniss and her Beau (leaving his name out, in case you haven’t read it ;]) and much more raw and real than Bella and Edward. And like these YA novels, there isn’t quite the same type of love triangle. It’s more of a third wheel situation. (That third wheel being cancer) And it’s what you’d expect of it. A lot of love, a lot of tears, and dagnabit, a LOT of feelings.

I don’t know how John Green did it but he turned me around. At the beginning, I had absolutely no pity, no anything for either character, but by the end,well, I was sitting alone and bawling in my living room.

My only, criticism (I guess?): Hazel’s reactions to so many things along with various aspects of her personality were just so relate-able.While, Augustus, on the other hand, was a tad too cheesy. At some points even being a little less than realistic. But, honestly, who cares, right? This story is one to tell the kids. It was beautifully written, gorgeously orchestrated, and just overall a pleasure to read.

Leave a Reply

